New Beck album, "Morning Phase," to be released on Capitol next year - Reverb

New Beck album, “Morning Phase,” to be released on Capitol next year

Beck will release his 12th album, “Morning Phase,” in early 2014 through his new label Capitol Records, according to a press release. The live line-up for Beck’s first record since 2008′s “Modern Guilt” includes: Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph, Jason Falkner and Justin Meldal-Johnsen (producer for Paramore, M83 and Tegan & Sara).

The new album will be a “companion piece of sorts” to Beck’s 2002 slow and acoustic album “Sea Change,” according to the press release. “Morning Phase” has been in the works for quite some time and Beck has slowly reappeared in the music scene over the past year. He released a collection of sheet music for the 2012 “Slow Reader,” recreated David Bowie’s “Sound + Vision” and leaked a few folky tracks (“I Won’t Be Long,” “Defriended” and “Gimme”).

Beck is ostensibly returning from his cynical pop-induced sound to a more acoustic and folky vibe. The L.A.-based artist has not announced a tour to go along with the new release, but is set to headline three shows in South America next month. Last week, Beck headlined the final day of Treasure Island Music Festival in San Francisco.

Follow our news and updates on Twitter, our relationship status on Facebook and our search history on Google +. Or send us a telegram.

Pop music blogger Laina Roberts is a Denver-based writer and new contributor to Reverb. Read more of her writing on her blog and follow her on Twitter.