Watch the Postal Service auditions, including Weird "Al", Moby tryouts - Reverb

Watch the Postal Service auditions, including Weird “Al”, Moby, Guns N’ Roses tryouts

The Postal Service are going to have a banner year in 2013. The much-anticipated reunion of Ben Gibbard and DNTEL has finally caught wind, the tour dates are set and people are excited to get a chance to see the duo back together again. But what if Ben Gibbard wasn’t the first choice for the band? What if there were tryouts and Moby and Weird “Al” and Blink 182 tried out? Funny or Die has created this “what if” situation for us, and you can watch the hilarious Postal Service auditions below.

As Reverb reported last month, Postal Service will bring the good vibes of “Give Up” to Red Rocks in May. Also, the Postal Service has added on a few more dates to the reunion tour to make sure nobody’s left out. Check those below.

the Postal Service reunion tour

04/09/13 Tue – Reno NV @ Grand Sierra Theatre (SOLD OUT) *
04/10/13 Wed – Davis CA @ Mondavi Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/12/13 Fri – San Luis Obispo CA @ Madonna Expo Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/13/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
04/15/13 Mon — Pomona CA @ Fox Theater *
04/18/13 Thu – Phoenix AZ @ Comerica Theatre **
04/19/13 Fri – Las Vegas NV @ Chelsea Ballroom at the Cosmopolitan (SOLD OUT)**
04/20/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
05/18/13 Sat – Manchester UK @ Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/19/13 Sun – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/20/13 Mon – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/21/13 Tues – Paris FR @ Trianon ***
05/23/13 Thu – Barcelona SP @ Primavera Sound 2013
05/27/13 Mon – Sasquatch Music Festival, George, WA (SOLD OUT)
05/28/13 Tues – Boise ID @ Knitting Factory (SOLD OUT)
05/29/13 Weds – Magna UT @ Saltair
05/30/13 Thu – Morrison CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater
06/01/13 Sat — Houston TX @ Free Press Summer Fest
06/02/13 Sun — Cedar Park TX @ Cedar Park
06/03/13 Mon – Grand Prairie TX @ Verizon Theater
06/05/13 Wed – Orlando FL @ Hard Rock Live (SOLD OUT)
06/06/13 Thu – Atlanta GA @ Fox Theater
06/07/13 Fri – Raleigh NC @ Red Hat Amphitheater
06/08/13 Sat – Columbus OH @ LC Pavilion
06/10/13 Mon – Detroit MI @ Fillmore Detroit (SOLD OUT)
06/11/13 Tues – Toronto ON @ Air Canada Centre
06/12/13 Wed – Boston MA @ Bank of America Pavilion
06/14/13 Fri – New York NY @ Barclays Center (SOLD OUT)
06/15/13 Sat – New York NY @ Barclays Center
06/17/13 Mon – Philadelphia PA @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts
06/18/13 Tue – Columbia MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion
07/16/13 Tues – Vancouver BC @ Rogers Arena
07/17/13 Wed – Portland OR @ Rose Garden Arena
07/26/13 Fri – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater (SOLD OUT)
07/27/13 Sat – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater
07/31/13 Wed — Kansas City MO @ Midland Theater
08/02/13 Thu — St. Paul MN @ Roy Wilkins Auditorium

* Baths support
** YACHT supports
*** Stealing Sheep supports

Follow our news and updates on Twitter and our relationship status on Facebook. Or send us a telegram.

Julio Enriquez is a Denver writer and photographer, editor of the Cause=Time blog and a regular contributor to Reverb.

Share: