U.S. Air Guitar Championships choose Denver and Boulder for the big dance - Reverb

U.S. Air Guitar Championships choose Denver and Boulder for the big dance

Dude! Someone up in air guitar heaven must really like us. Maybe it’s fake-Jimi-Hendrix.

The U.S. Air Guitar National Finals will take over Denver’s Bluebird Theater on July 21 as wannabe-guitarists from around the country gather to out-play each other and compete for a chance at the world championships in Oulu, Finland on Aug. 24.

If you think you’ve got what it takes, you’ve probably already been practicing, but you should also know that contestant sign-ups begin today on USAirGuitar.com.

The 2012 regional competitions and tour, for your reading pleasure:

June 15 Fri: Portland – Dante’s
June 16 Sat: Seattle – El Corozan
June 20 Wed: Philadelphia – Johnny Brenda’s
June 21 Thu: New York City – Bowery Ballroom
June 22 Fri: Boston – Brighton Music Hall**
June 22 Fri: Kansas City – Beaumont Club**
June 23 Sat: Washington DC – 9:30 Club
June 29 Fri: Chicago – Metro
June 30 Sat: Minneapolis – Cabooze
July 12 Thu: San Diego – Soda Bar
July 13 Fri: Los Angeles – Troubadour
July 14 Sat: San Francisco – The Independent

**two competitions in two cities are happening on the same evening

2012 US AIR GUITAR WILD CARD COMPETITION

July 19 Thu: Boulder, CO – [venue TBA]

2012 US AIR GUITAR NATIONAL FINALS

July 21 Sat: Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater

AIR GUITAR WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS
August 24 Fri – Oulu, Finland

FROM THE OFFICE OF THE CO-COMMISSIONERSHIP:
“We begin our 10th year of competitive air guitar not proud but humbled. For this milestone—this ascension of our sport to its rightful position in the pantheon of human endeavors is not our achievement, and is not our solemn distinction. It is yours. The staggering success of the US Air Guitar Championships belongs to the grizzled veterans of the Regional circuit. To the moral absolutists that judge with unimpeachable acumen. And to the slack-jawed fans, struck dumb by another glimpse of that elusive sublime which we call ‘airness.’ Thank you.”

Tickets are on sale at 10 a.m. Saturday. ($20, axs.com)

Follow our news and updates on Twitter, our whereabouts on Foursquare and our relationship status on Facebook. Or send us a telegram. Whatever. We’re easy.

John Wenzel is an A&E reporter and Features blogs editor for The Denver Post and the author of “Mock Stars” (Speck Press/Fulcrum). Follow him @johntwenzel and @beardsandgum.

Categories: Articles, Home, News, Rock
  • Anonymous

    Is this a great country, or what? And a confederate flag to boot.